Glossary of LearnJCU terms
An action menu is an icon that looks like a ‘double down arrow’ and is located to the right of most items in LearnJCU. It is only visible when Edit Mode is turned on and when clicked displays all the actions that can be performed on that item (eg Edit, Delete etc). The items in an action menu will change depending on the type of content or tool it is attached to.
The Digital Library is the part of Reserve Online that is linked directly to your LearnJCU sites. Items in the Digital Library are only accessible to students when you publish them to your LearnJCU site. The Digital Library is accessed by going to the Staff Resources tab in LearnJCU then to the Reserve Online subtab.
Edit Mode is a function available to staff only that allows you to add, modify, organise and delete content and tools in your LearnJCU subject site. Edit Mode can be turned on or off by clicking the On/Off switch on the top right of your screen. When Edit Mode is turned on, arrows (to allow drag and drop organisation) and action menus (to initiate actions) appear next to most items. When Edit Mode is turned off, your site appears essentially as a student would view it.
A Community is a LearnJCU site that can be used to establish an online environment to share resources, projects, collaborative research and online communication with colleagues, groupings of students or a general community of interest. Members can include any staff or student member of the University. Communities are displayed to members on the Communities tab in LearnJCU and are also listed in the Communities catalogue.
A non-JCU user account can be established to allow temporary access to LearnJCU for staff or students who do not currently have a valid JCU username and password (eg Adjunct lecturers). Non-JCU user accounts expire after 12 months.
Notifications provide a daily summary of student activity in your LearnJCU subject. Notifications appear on the Welcome tab in LearnJCU in two modules - 'Needs Attention' and 'Alerts'. 'Needs Attention' keeps track of student submission of assessments via Assignment dropboxes for each subject you are teaching. 'Alerts' keeps track of overdue submissions of an assessment (eg Assignment dropbox, online test). Students get a 'To Do' module that lists all assessment items and their due dates. LearnJCU also sends out one email daily that summarises any assessment submitted by students in each of your subject sites for that day. Notifications can selectively turned on or off to meet your requirements.
A Site code is used to describe a specific offering of a subject in LearnJCU. For example: 12-XY1001-TSV-INT-SP1 is the site code for a subject starting in 2012 with a subject code of XY1001 being offered as an internal subject in Townsville in Study Period 1. When two or more subject sites are merged, a new site code is produced to reflect the combination. You can find your site code by logging onto your site and checking the top left corner of the page above your site menu. A site code is always required when putting in a support request with LearnJCU.
Merging creates a single site from two (or more) individual subject sites. A merged site provides a common set of content and a shared online space for all students in the constituent subjects. The original sites are no longer accessible after a merge.
Site content transfer
A site content transfer or site rollover means copying the content of one LearnJCU subject site to another (eg between years 11-XY1001-TSV-INT-SP1 to 12-XY1001-TSV-INT-SP1).
A Student View account allows a staff member to view their subjects and communities as a student – this is useful to test that all elements of their LearnJCU subjects are ready for student access. The Student View account is a separate identity to your staff account and will appear in the Grade Centre for your subject.