Dual honour for JCU academic

Sept 13, 2011: - A longstanding contribution to public health and tropical medicine by James Cook University’s Professor Peter Leggat has been recognised internationally and nationally.

The Faculty of Public Health of the Royal Colleges of Physicians of the United Kingdom have awarded him a Fellowship Through Distinction, while the Australasian College of Tropical Medicine has recognised him with an Honorary Fellowship.

Professor Leggat said that while both awards meant a lot to him, he saw them as recognition of JCU’s high standing in public health and tropical medicine.

“JCU has one of Australasia’s largest postgraduate programs in public health and has been recognised internationally,” he said.

“We’re concerned with training health professionals working in tropical Australia and beyond and actively contribute to research of health problems of the tropical world.”

The UK Fellowship is one of only two to be awarded to Australians this year, and the Australasian College of Tropical Medicine Honorary Fellowship is the only one to be awarded in the past three years.

He joins an impressive list of Honorary Fellows of the College that includes Australian icons such as Dr Fred Hollows, Father Frank Flynn, Prof Straun Sutherland and Prof Frank Fenner.

Professor Leggat has been with JCU for nearly 20 years and has published more than 400 papers in professional journals and published more than a dozen books.

As well as being Deputy Head of JCU’s School of Public Health, Tropical Medicine and Rehabilitation Sciences, Professor Leggat is also Director of JCU’s Anton Breinl Centre, which specialises in postgraduate training and research in public health and tropical medicine.

The College of Tropical Medicine was originally founded in Townsville in 1991 and celebrated its 20th Anniversary earlier this year. It now has membership from at least 30 countries and provides professional training in specialist areas of tropical medicine in Australasia.

The Faculty of Public Health is a joint Faculty of the three Royal Colleges of Physicians in the UK (London, Edinburgh and Glasgow) and was established in 1972. It offers membership and professional training in specialist areas of public health in the United Kingdom.

Issued: September 13,2011

JCU Media: Jim O’Brien 07 4781 4822 or 0418 892449